• Archives

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

    More Photos
  • oneprettything

McCall’s M6017

DSC01946

I’ve had both this pattern and two metres of Alexander Henry Willow Grove hanging around for quite some time waiting to be put together. I fell in love with the fabric the moment I saw it and didn’t want to waste the lovely design on too complicated a pattern.

dress

Originally I had planned on making version D but then I realised that the fabric more or less gives a layered effect on it’s own so cutting it into horizontal panels would rather negate it’s prettiness. So I opted for the simplicity of version B.

It is a really simple pattern and was great fun to make. The only changes I made to the original was to top stitch the lower bodice close to the gathering, to make it look a bit more finished, and the addition of some green trim to the bottom hem.

stitching

DSC01948

Now all I have to do is convince my daughter to wear it. I’m counting on the high twirl factor of the skirt to sway her.

Leave a Reply

