• Archives

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

    More Photos
  • oneprettything

Ripple

yarn

On 21 March 2009 I started a ripple blanket. I know the precise date because I checked back at my Ravelry page the other day and saw that the blanket had been sitting at the 95% finished stage for more than a year. So I’ve now been shamed into finishing it.

The pattern was a free one that I found through Ravelry and the blanket was really easy and fun to make in front of the television. I can’t quite understand why it’s taken me so long to pick up and actually finish. Probably the realisation that to do so I needed to weave in about a million ends! When I put the almost finished blanket on hold last year I did actually make quite a few other things, but I just didn’t go back and add the last two or three missing rows and the edging.

ripple

ripple

I used a bigger crochet hook than the yarn called for (a 6 rather than a 4 or 5) both because I tend to be rather a tight crocheter and also because I wanted the blanket to be very floppy and drapey. I made it with my daughter in mind and I wanted it to be as snuggly as possible. She tried it out for size on Sunday afternoon, when I was trying to finish the second last row – not the easiest way to crochet – and it was just the right size for her. I love making her blankets and, even better, she loves to use them. I like to think of them as an extension of a hug from me.

ripple

ripple

So, on to the next project. I’m not exactly sure what to do but I’m rather inspired by a photo I saw on Sarah London’s blog some time ago so perhaps it will be another blanket. I always think you can’t have too many hugs, can you?

« »

3 Responses

  1. Oh, I just love your colorful ripple. It is so lovely.

  2. Ohhh I love your colors! The ripple is my all time favorite to crochet… and that particular pattern is my favorite! Thanks for sharing…

Leave a Reply

