• Archives

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

    More Photos
  • oneprettything

Beginnings

I started reading sewing blogs about a year ago by chance.  I taught myself to crochet at the beginning of 2009 and soon joined Ravelry, which has been the source of a lot of inspiration and a great help in understanding what I’m actually doing and, more importantly, where I’m going wrong.  Then I came across one particular member  and saw that she had a blog where she regularly posted both crochet and sewing projects.  I’ve been back to visit her blog many, many times and I’ve found that the blogs that she lists on her site are also amazing places for inspiration.

One of these that I regularly read is Chalet Girl.  A few months ago she was having a giveaway to celebrate the third birthday of her blog and I commented on the post and was really pleased to learn that I’d been picked to receive a prize of a selection of fabric scraps.  As a total newcomer to the world of sewing, and living far away from fabric shops that stock quilting cottons etc, this couldn’t have been a better prize as it meant I could actually see and touch many of the fabrics that until then I’d only seen on the internet.  The little bundle of scraps arrived in amazingly quick time all the way from Australia and have been sitting waiting for the right kind of project.  

So obviously when I started to make hexagons for my daughter’s charm quilt I thought about these scraps and realised that many of them were large enough to be used.  I picked out all those in the right sort of colours and managed to make these 50 hexagons to be added to my stash of basted hexagons:


And what is more, there are still lots more scraps to be used in other projects! 

I’m really happy to be including these hexagons in my first quilt – to me they represent the warmth and friendliness of the online sewing community, something which inspired me to jump in and create a blog for myself.  So thank you so much Sheridan!

3 Responses

  1. My absolute pleasure! How charming to see so many of my favourite fabrics together as hexagons on the other side of the world!!

    Can’t wait to see where they go from here!

  2. Well, hopefully they will turn into a quilt. Although I’ve still got to make about another 950 hexagons! I’m aiming for it to be on my daughter’s bed by the end of the year.

    Then I shall have to think of something to make from all the other scraps you sent!

  3. […] hexagons Image by RDV dreambug.wordpress.com/2010/06/14/beginnings/ […]

Leave a Reply

