• Archives

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

  • oneprettything

Project Number 1

 

Obviously as an almost beginner sewer (I last used a sewing machine at school in about 1983 or 1984 at most), the intelligent thing to do would be to start slowly making cushion covers or something similar and hone my sewing skills. However I’m a risk taker and therefore I decided to jump in at the sewing deep end and make my daughter a dress for a wedding in May (where she was going to be the bridesmaid/ring bearer).   

When I decided to make her a dress I came across the perfect pattern: New Look 6448.  (I decided on making version C but with the capped sleeves.) And then the idea of toile de jouy as the perfect fabric popped into my head.  Luckily I live close to an amazing fabric shop and they had just the right style of toile de jouy for the dress.  So the fabric waited, pre-washed, ironed and ready to be cut out, while I wrestled with a toile of the dress to see if I could make all my mistakes on this before starting on the expensive fabric.

After quite a lot of trial and error, and an awful lot of unpicking, I finally finished the dress in good time for the wedding.  And I have to admit that I’m really quite chuffed with the result.

And then I couldn’t help thinking it needed a matching bag………

Update:  Yesterday I managed to take a decent photo of the dress (or rather the back of the dress as I tend not to post recognisable photos of my daughter).  It has now been washed and worn a couple of times and is still holding up.  And more importantly, she loves wearing it (due no doubt to the net frill attached to the lining which gives good twirlability to the skirt – a must for all 3 year old girls!)  I now wish I’d made it with a longer hem so that she could wear it for longer.  I’ll definitely keep that in mind when I make the next dress. 

One Response

  1. […] on from this post, it seems like I’m not the only one with toile di jouy on my […]

Leave a Reply

